This page is maintained for older versions of KronoDesk only. The latest documentation can be found at: https://kronodoc.inflectra.com

KronoDesk Administration Guide Help Viewer

3.2.1. User Roles

You can create and modify user roles here. By default, the standard roles are:

The following roles exist in the system and can be used when assigned permissions to users:

  • Administrator – The most powerful role in the system, they can view, create, modify and delete all artifacts in the system (articles, tickets, forums, threads, replies) as well as access the administration section where they can change all application-wide settings.
  • Public – All users that are viewing the site that are not logged in.
  • Manager – This role can view, create, modify and delete all artifacts in the system (articles, tickets, forums, threads, replies). This role cannot access the Administration section
  • Employee – This role can view everything in the non-administration section of the application. This role can view, modify and create tickets, articles, threads and replies. It cannot delete items in the system.
  • Customer – This role can view all articles and forums, can submit new threads, reply to existing threads, can log help desk tickets and view/modify tickets that they opened only.
  • User – This role can view all articles and forums, can submit new threads, and reply to existing threads. This role does not have any access to the help desk ticketing section of the application.

When editing a role, you can give it certain permissions:

The name of the role is used in the Role selection box, when editing a user.

Description is just used for administration purposes, and is not displayed anywhere to end-users.

Internal is a flag – if set to true, Internal users are considered employees of the company, and have some additional permissions granted to them. If this option is set to ‘No’, then they are considered an External Customer (End-User).

The tabs then let you specify what the role can do in each section of the application.

Important Note: Roles can be stacked – that is to say, Users can be assigned to more than one role at a time. Roles will be ANDed together. So if ANY role is marked ‘Internal’, then the user will be considered an employee. Likewise, if ANY role allows a user to create a ticket, then no matter what the other roles say, the user will be able to create a ticket. It is also important to note that is the section is disable entirely, setting a permission here will not have any effect.