This page is maintained for older versions of KronoDesk only. The latest documentation can be found at: https://kronodoc.inflectra.com

KronoDesk Administration Guide Help Viewer

3.5.2. Ticket Statuses

Ticket statuses can be edited using the grid that displays all defined statuses.

All statuses must have a display name, which is viewed by the user editing or viewing the ticket. The other fields are:

  • Closed for Internal? - Whether this status is considered as inactive for internal users (employees, support agents, etc.). For example the sample status ‘Waiting on Customer’ would be considered ‘Closed for Internal’ because customer support agents do not want to see such tickets in their list when it’s waiting for a customer to respond.
  • Closed for External - Whether this status is considered as inactive for external users (customers, etc.). For example the sample status ‘Waiting on Customer’ would be considered ‘Open for External’ because end users / customers would definitely want to see such tickets in their list since the support agent is waiting for their response.
  • Default? - The status selected as the default is the status that new tickets are opened as.

To add a new Status, click the Add New Status link – a new row will be inserted into the table where you can save the new status.

To remove a status, click the Remove link. Any tickets with a status that has been removed will stay that status, until the next time a user edits the ticket.

In addition to this screen that lets you edit the ticket statuses, if you click on the “Advanced” option in the left hand navigation, it will bring up the screen that lets you specify some additional status change rules:

There are several options you can configure:

  • The Default Open Status – this allows you to specify the status that a ticket will be automatically switched to when a new note is added by the person who originally opened the ticket. This is useful when a customer accesses one of their existing tickets that’s in a closed status but forgets to change the status back to an open status. This ensures that such tickets do not get forgotten about.
  • The Default Assigned Status – this allows you to specify the status that a ticket will be automatically switched to when you use the bulk assign tools on the main Help Desk page. For example five new tickets arrive and you select them and choose the option to “Assign Tickets to Me”. When they are assigned in this way, the system will automatically change their status to the default assigned status option (if specified).
  • Closed Status – After a set amount of time, an open ticket can be automatically closed. This will only happen if a ticket is set to a status that is not open for internal (customer service), but is open externally (for customers). The dropdown list contains the status that the ticket will be switched to.
  • Age of Ticket - Allowable values: 7-365. After the ticket is this number of days old, the status will be automatically closed.