This page is maintained for older versions of Spira only. The latest documentation can be found at: https://spiradoc.inflectra.com

SpiraTest Administration Guide Help Viewer

1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices
Search:
1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices

3.4.2. Edit Workflow Transition

When you click on the transition name link from the previous screen, you are taken to the workflow transition details screen:

The top part of the screen is the “workflow browser” which illustrates how the transition relates to the workflow as a whole. It displays the current transition in the middle, with the originating and destination steps listed to either side. Clicking on either incident status name will take you to the appropriate workflow step details page. This allows you to click through the whole workflow from start to finish without having to return to the workflow details page.

Each transition has a series of conditions which need to be satisfied for a user to actually execute the transition (i.e. move the incident from the originating status to the destination status) and a set of notification rules that allow you to specify who should get an email notification if the transition is executed. Both the conditions and notifications allow you to set three types of user role:

  • The detector of the incident can be allowed to execute the transition, and/or be notified when the transition occurs. For example, when an incident is marked as Resolved, the detector should be the only one who’s allowed to move it to Closed. Similarly when an incident is moved from Assigned to Resolved, the detector should probably be notified so that he knows to log in and verify that it has been resolved satisfactorily.
  • The owner of the incident can be allowed to execute the transition, and/or be notified when the transition occurs. For example, when an incident is marked as Assigned, the assigned owner should be the only one who’s allowed to move it to Resolved. Similarly when an incident is moved from Open to Assigned, the owner should probably be notified so that he knows to log in and begin resolving the incident.
  • A user with a specified role can be allowed to execute the transition, and/or be notified when the transition occurs regardless of whether they are the detector or owner. For example a user with role “Manager” might want the power to close all incidents regardless of ownership status, and might also want to be notified when any incident is marked as Not-Reproducible.

You can set any of these conditions by changing the drop-down list and/or check-boxes and clicking the appropriate <Update> button.