This page is maintained for older versions of Spira only. The latest documentation can be found at: https://spiradoc.inflectra.com

SpiraTest Administration Guide Help Viewer

1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices
Search:
1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices

3.1.1. View/Edit Projects

The following screen is displayed when you choose the “View/Edit Projects” link from the Administration sidebar navigation:

This screen displays the list of projects in the system (both inactive and active) together with their project group, date of creation and active status. Clicking on either the “Select” link in the right-hand column or the name of the project will change the currently selected project to one clicked, and any project-specific administration tasks will be applied to this project.

You can filter the list of projects by either choosing an active status, project group, or entering a portion of the name or date into the appropriate text box. When you click the <Filter> button, the list of projects will be filtered by the criteria you entered. You can clear the filter selection by clicking the <Clear Filters> button. To sort the list of projects, just click on the appropriate arrow icon located in the header row of each field (one each for ascending / descending) In addition, the list of projects is paginated into groups of fifteen (15). You can step through the different pages by clicking the page numbers at the bottom of the project list.

To permanently delete a project, you should click the “Delete” link to the right of the project details. This is irreversible and will delete all the artifacts associated with the project. If you want to temporarily delete a project, simply set its Active flag to ‘No’ instead. To make a copy of a project to reuse its test cases, releases, test sets and requirements, simply click the “Copy” link to the right of the project. Note that this will not make a copy of any historical information, test runs or incidents.

To add a new project to the system, simply click the <Add> button at the bottom of the project list, and a new screen will be displayed that allows you to enter the new project information:

You need to enter a name for the project (which cannot be the same as any already in use); select which project group it belongs to and optionally enter a detailed description and/or web-site URL. You should initially make sure that the project is marked as “Active”. In addition, you can choose to either use the “default template” or to use an existing project as the template. Using an existing project as the template will copy across the workflows, user membership, custom properties, document types, document folders, data synchronization and other configuration settings that you want to reuse in the new project. Once you are satisfied with the information, click the <Insert> button to actually create the new project.

In a similar way, to edit the details of an existing project, simply click the “Edit” hyperlink in the right hand column of the project list box, and you will be taken to the following screen that allows you modify the project details:

On this screen you can edit the name, description, project group, website URL and active status. Once you have made the necessary changes, click the <Update> button to commit them. If you decide that you want to ignore the changes, click the <Cancel> button and the changes will be discarded.