This page is maintained for older versions of Spira only. The latest documentation can be found at: https://spiradoc.inflectra.com

SpiraTest Administration Guide Help Viewer

1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices
Search:
1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices

3.5.2. Requirement Workflows

Clicking on the “Edit Workflows” link under the Requirements heading, brings up the list of defined requirement workflows for the current project. A workflow is a predefined sequence of requirement statuses linked together by “workflow transitions” to enable a newly created requirement to be reviewed, prioritized, assigned, developed and tested, as well as to handle exception cases such as the case of a rejected or obsolete requirement. The workflow list screen for the sample project is illustrated below:

The screen displays a list of all the standard requirement types in the system. The associated workflow drop-down list allows you to specify which workflow the requirement type will follow. This is a very powerful feature since it allows you to configure different workflows for different requirement types; i.e. a User Story may follow a simpler review process than a Feature or Use Case requirement.

You can have as many workflows as you like in a project, but only one can be marked as the default. Each requirement type must be assigned to a workflow. To modify the name, default flag, and/or active flag of an existing workflow, simply change the values in the appropriate text-box, radio-button, or drop-down list and click the <Save> button. To add a new workflow, simply click the ‘Add Workflow’ link and a new workflow will be created with the standard SpiraTeam® steps and transitions.

Note: You can only assign an active workflow to a requirement type, and similarly you cannot make a workflow inactive that is currently linked to a requirement type. This is important as all requirement types need to be linked to an active workflow at all times.

3.5.2.1. Edit Workflow Details

Clicking on the ‘Steps’ hyperlink of a workflow brings up the following screen that lists all the workflow steps and workflow transitions that comprise the workflow:

This page lists in the left-most column all the various requirement statuses defined in the system. The next column lists all the possible transitions that can occur from that status. In addition, with each transition is listed the name of the resulting destination status that the transition leads to. E.g. from the Requested status, depending on your role (see later) the user can move the requirement to either Accepted or Under Review, depending on which transition the user takes.

Clicking on the name of a step or transition takes you to the appropriate details page (see below) where you can set the properties of the step or transition respectively. To delete an existing transition, simply click the ‘Delete’ hyperlink after the transition name, and to add a new transition, click the ‘Add Transition’ hyperlink in the Operations column.

3.5.2.2. Edit Workflow Transition

When you click on the transition name link from the previous screen, you are taken to the workflow transition details screen:

The top part of the screen is the “workflow browser” which illustrates how the transition relates to the workflow as a whole. It displays the current transition in the middle, with the originating and destination steps listed to either side. Clicking on either requirement status name will take you to the appropriate workflow step details page. This allows you to click through the whole workflow from start to finish without having to return to the workflow details page.

This part of the screen lets you change the name of the transition In addition, each transition has a series of conditions which need to be satisfied for a user to actually execute the transition (i.e. move the requirement from the originating status to the destination status):

The conditions section allows you to set three types of user role:

  • The author of the requirement can be allowed to execute the transition. For example, when a requirement is marked as Completed, the author might be allowed to move it to Obsolete when it’s no longer applicable.
  • The owner of the requirement can be allowed to execute the transition. For example, when a requirement is marked as Under Review, the assigned owner should be the only one who’s allowed to move it to Accepted.
  • A user with a specified role can be allowed to execute the transition regardless of whether they are the author or owner. For example a user with role “Manager” might want the power to close all requirements regardless of ownership status.

You can set any of these conditions by changing the drop-down list and/or check-boxes and clicking the appropriate <Save> button.

3.5.2.3. Edit Workflow Step

When you click on the requirement status name link from either of the previous screens, you are taken to the workflow step details screen:

The top part of the screen is the “workflow browser” which illustrates how the step relates to the workflow as a whole. It displays the current requirement status in the middle, with the possible originating and destination transitions listed to either side. Clicking on either workflow transition name will take you to the appropriate workflow transition details page. This allows you to click through the whole workflow from start to finish without having to return to the workflow details page.

This page allows you to define the behavior of the various requirement fields (i.e. those that are a standard part of SpiraTeam® such as Importance):

This page also allows you to define the behavior of the various requirement custom properties for this particular step in the workflow:

You can set each of the fields/custom properties as being:

  • Hidden – The field / custom property will not be displayed when the requirement is in this status
  • Disabled – The field / custom property will be displayed, but will be greyed-out and read-only
  • Required – The field / custom property will be required when the requirement is in this status

Note that you cannot set a field/property as being required and either disabled or hidden since this would prevent a user from ever updating the requirement. For example, when a requirement is in the Requested status, you might make the owner field hidden (since the author shouldn’t need to know who will ultimately own it), when it gets to the Accepted status, you might make the field enabled, and when it gets to the In Progress status, you might make it enabled and required. This allows you to tailor the information gathered to the appropriate place in the workflow.

To actually make these changes, all you need to do is select the appropriate checkboxes in the list of fields and custom properties and click the corresponding <Update> button.