This page is maintained for older versions of Spira only. The latest documentation can be found at: https://spiradoc.inflectra.com

Spira 4.2 User Manual Help Viewer

1. Introduction
2. Functionality Overview
3. User/Project Management
4. Requirements Management
5. Test Case Management
6. Incident Tracking
7. Release Management
8. Task Tracking
9. Resource Tracking
10. Document Management
11. Reports Center
12. Source Code
13. Planning Board
14. Mobile Access
Search:
1. Introduction
2. Functionality Overview
3. User/Project Management
4. Requirements Management
5. Test Case Management
6. Incident Tracking
7. Release Management
8. Task Tracking
9. Resource Tracking
10. Document Management
11. Reports Center
12. Source Code
13. Planning Board
14. Mobile Access

3.1. Login Screen

Upon entering the SpiraTeam® URL provided by your system administrator into your browser, you will see the following login screen:

You need to enter your given user-name and password into the system in the appropriate boxes then click the <Log In> button to gain access to the application. Normally you only remain logged in to the application whilst in active use, and you will be asked to log-in again after either closing the browser or 20 minutes of inactivity. To prevent this, and stay logged-in to SpiraTeam® regardless of browser window closing or inactivity, select the “Keep me logged in” check-box before clicking the <Log In> button. Note that this setting is specific to each individual computer you are logging-in from, and that it will be reset when you explicitly log-out with the log-out link (described in more detail in section 3.3).

If for any reason you are unable to login with the provided username/password combination, and error message will be displayed. If you cannot remember the correct log-in information, click on the “Forgot your password” link and your password will be emailed to the email address currently on file. The reset password screen is illustrated below:

If you don’t have a SpiraTeam® account setup, clicking on the “Register for an account?” link will take you to a form that you need to fill-in, which will be forwarded to the system administrator, who will need to approve your account before it is active in the system. This screen is illustrated below:

In addition, the system will prevent you logging on to the system with the same username at the same time on multiple computers. This is to avoid the system getting confused by a user trying to make contradictory actions at the same time. If for any reason you do try and log in to the system when you already have an active session in progress, you will see the following screen:

You have two choices: you can either click the “Log Out” link and try logging in as a different user, or if you want to log-off any other active sessions (e.g. you closed the browser and the session is still listed as active), simply click the “Sign Off The Other Locations” link, and you will be logged in to the application.

Since SpiraTeam® is licensed to organizations for a specific number of concurrent users – unless they have purchased an unlimited license – only a fixed number of users may be active at the same time. So, for example if an organization has a five (5) concurrent user license and a sixth user tries to log-in, they will be presented with the following screen:

This means that one of the other users who is already logged-in, needs to click the “Log Out” button so that one of the concurrent licenses is freed for your use. If the user has logged out by closing the browser, the system may not have detected the logout. In this case, the other user needs to log back in, and then click the “Log Out” link.