This page is maintained for older versions of Spira only. The latest documentation can be found at: https://spiradoc.inflectra.com

SpiraTest Administration Guide Help Viewer

1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices
Search:
1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices

3.1.2. Edit Project Groups

The following screen is displayed when you choose the “Edit Project Groups” link from the Administration sidebar navigation:

This screen displays the list of project groups in the system (both inactive and active) together with their web site URL, date of creation and active status. Project Groups are used to relate projects that are in the same department/division/organization or are for a common customer, client, etc. When projects are in the same group, a user that is a member of the project group can see the special Project Group Dashboard that displays key metrics from all the projects in the group combined. Also such users will have observer-level access to the contained projects without needing to be explicitly added to each project.

You can filter the list of project groups by either choosing an active status, or entering a portion of the name, web-site or date into the appropriate text box. When you click the “Filter” button, the list of project groups will be filtered by the criteria you entered. You can clear the filter selection by clicking the “Clear Filters” button. To sort the list of project groups, just click on the appropriate arrow icon located in the header row of each field (one each for ascending / descending) In addition, the list of project groups is paginated into groups of fifteen (15). You can step through the different pages by clicking the page numbers at the bottom of the project list.

To permanently delete a project group, you should click the “Delete” button to the right of the project group details. Any projects contained in the group will not be deleted, but instead just moved to the default project group. There has to be at least one project group in the system at all times, so the project group designated as the ‘default’ one will not be available for deletion.

To add a new project group to the system, click the “Add” button at the bottom of the project group list, and a new screen will be displayed that allows you to enter the new project group information:

You need to enter a name for the project group and optionally enter a detailed description and/or web-site URL. You should initially make sure that the project group is marked as “Active”. In addition, you can choose to make this project group the default one (meaning that it cannot be deleted and projects get added to it when their groups are deleted). Once you are satisfied with the information, click the “Insert” button to actually create the new project group.

In a similar way, to edit the details of an existing project group, click the “Edit” button in the right hand column of the project group list box, and you will be taken to the following screen that allows you modify the project group details:

On the top part of this screen you can edit the name, description, website URL, active status and default status. Once you have made the necessary changes, click the “Save” button to commit them. If you decide that you want to ignore the changes, click the “Cancel” button and the changes will be discarded.

In addition, the lower part of the screen allows you to view/edit the users that are members of the group and also see which projects are in the group:

a) Group User Membership

This tab allows you to see which users are members of the group and which group role they have:

The two project group roles are “Executive” and “Group Owner”:

  • Executive – This role allows the user to see the dashboard for this project group, which contains all the key metrics for the contained projects displayed in an aggregated manner. Please see the SpiraTeam User Manual for more details on this dashboard. In addition, the user is automatically granted ‘observer’ permissions for all the projects in the group.
  • Group Owner – This role consists of all the permissions granted to the “Executive” role above, but in additional allows the user to make changes to the Project Group itself in the Administration section.

To change the role of an existing project group member, just change the role in the drop-down list and click [Save]. To remove a member from the group, just select the appropriate checkboxes and click [Delete]. Finally, to add a new user to the group, click on the [Add] button:

You now should narrow down the list of users by entering filter criteria and clicking [Filter]. Once you have located the appropriate user(s), just select a group role for them from the drop-down list and click [Add] to add them to the group in the specified role.

b) Group Project List

This tab allows you to see the list of projects that are contained within the current group. Clicking on the name of the project will take you to the details page for that project: