This page is maintained for older versions of Spira only. The latest documentation can be found at: https://spiradoc.inflectra.com

SpiraTest Administration Guide Help Viewer

1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices
Search:
1. Introduction
2. Installing SpiraTeam®
3. System Administration
4. Appendices

3.2.5. View / Edit Roles

There are six (6) default project roles that a user may be assigned to a project with:

  • Project Owner – the same rights as a Manager, but in addition can access the project administration tools
  • Manager – can see all screens and add/edit all artifacts, but cannot access project administration tools
  • Developer – can see all screens, but can only add/edit incidents, tasks and tests and change requirement coverage
  • Tester – can see all screens, but can only add/edit incidents and execute tests. Note: cannot delete incidents, only a Manager can do that.
  • Observer – can see all screens, but cannot perform any write operations (insert / update / delete)
  • Incident User – can only view and edit incidents. This user cannot even see the project’s requirements, tasks, test cases or releases.

Note: The System Administrator is automatically added to every project as a Project Owner, and can never be removed as Project Owner, made inactive or made a different role on the project.

You can make changes to the permissions associated with each of these default roles, and also create as many additional roles as you like. To customize the roles in your installation of SpiraTeam®, click on the “View / Edit Roles” link in the Administration sidebar navigation:

The screen lists all of the roles currently configured in the system (both active and inactive) together with the name, description, and an active flag. You can create new roles by clicking the “Add” button which will create a new default role entry in the list. You can edit the name, description and associated permissions of a role by clicking on the appropriate “Edit” button. You can delete an existing role, by clicking the “Delete” button. Note that you cannot delete any of the default roles, but can instead make them inactive.

Clicking on the edit button will take you to the following screen:

On the top of the screen, you can edit the name, description, project admin, limited view and active flags:

  • Project Admin – this flag denotes whether this role has administration-level access to the project (for example the project owner role has this set by default)
  • Limited View – this flag denotes that the role has a restricted view of the project, with the user only allowed to see the artifacts that they have either created or been assigned
  • Active – This flag denotes if the role is active in the system

Underneath you can specify the various artifact-specific permissions for the role:

These permission options allow you to specify if a user can create, modify, delete or view each of the artifacts in the system. If a user does not have view permissions for the artifact, then the corresponding tab in the system will also be disabled. There are two kinds of Modify permission available:

  • Modify All – this option specifies that the user can modify all the artifacts of this type in the project (e.g. the user can edit all test cases)
  • Modify Owned – this option specifies that the user can modify only the artifacts in the project that were either created or assigned to this user (e.g. the user can edit only the requirements they created or have been assigned)

Note: The permission needed to execute a test case is the “Create + Test Run” permission since that initiates the creation of a new test run.

In addition, there are some artifact-wide permissions that can be specified for each role:

This section lets you specify if the role allows users to add new documents to the project, edit existing documents, delete documents, edit the document folders, and view/edit source code revisions.