Thread

Skip Navigation LinksForums > SpiraTeam Forums > SpiraTeam Issues & Questi... > Incident Tracking/Notific...

Incident Tracking/Notification Issues RSS Feed

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I am a new SpiraTeam manager/administrator and I'm trying to get our workflow established for various parts of the system before we can go "live" with it.  The first problem I've run into is with Incident Tracking/Notification.

As the software manager of a small development team, I need all requirement requests and incidents to be routed through me to be prioritized and detailed for processing by the programming team.  Currently, when an Incident is created, I have the Creator assign it to me, specifiying me as the Owner.  I then see it in My Assigned Incidents in my dashboard.  I process the request and Assign it to the developers, specifying the developer as the Owner.  When the developer is done, they Resolve the Incident, and again assigned to me, specifying me as the Owner.  However, at that point, it does NOT appear back on My Assigned Incidents...and it also is removed from the Creators list of My Detected Incidents...even though the Incident was not Closed.

So, how would I know to go reassign or Close the Incident when it doesn't appear back on my dashboard?  There's something about this standard incident workflow that I don't understand...obviously.

Also, on a separate but related topic, the Creator was able to modify the Resolved and Verified fields on the Incident, even though it was still assigned to the developers to work on...and even though the Creator was listed as a Tester role.  How is this possible?

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

2 Replies
Sarah T.Sarah T.
re: Noel C Bauman on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Hi Noel

There are two configuration changes you probably should make in your instance of SpiraTeam based on your questions

  1. Go to Administration > Incidents > Edit Statuses - make sure that the Resolved/Fixed status is listed as an "open" status, that way it will remain on the dashboard until closed.
  2. Consider changing the permissions of your developers from 'Modify All' to 'Modify Owned' so that they will be only able to edit those fields when the incident is assigned to then.

Regards
Sarah
Noel C BaumanNoel C Bauman
re: Sarah T. on Friday, February 13, 2015
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Sarah,

Sorry for the late reply.  Your suggestion #1 was exactly what I was looking for...and it worked great.  Thanks for your help.

.Noel.
Statistics
  • Started: 2/10/2015
  • Last Reply: 1/5/2016
  • Replies: 2
  • Views: 2621
Powered by KronoDesk v1.1.0.15 | © Copyright Inflectra Corporation 2011-2016 | Licensed to Inflectra Corporation.