Utilization

Sunday, March 22, 2020
Avatar

I have created a project plan in which the requirements are broken down with several tasks and estimates at that level.  In creating the project plan, I've added and deleted a number of requirements/tasks that had estimates.  I am trying to use the monthly utilization to establish velocity but the but the deleted requirements/task estimates are used as part of each individuals utilization calculation making them look extremely over allocated.  Why does SpiraTeam use these estimated hours toward the utilization when the requirements/tasks have been deleted?  Has anyone noticed this and is there an update or correction coming from Inflectra to address this?

1 Replies
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Avatar
re: scphillie00 Sunday, March 22, 2020

For those reading this, the issue was:

  1. Tasks that were attached to deleted Requirements are still being calculated into individuals utilization numbers": When you delete a requirement, any tasks linked to it are not deleted. In other words, tasks can live independently of requirements. If a task has been assigned to you, it will still be shown in the My Assigned Tasks widget until that task is either deleted or completed - whether or not it is linked to a requirement, or if so if that requirement is deleted.
  2. A task is a record of work done, and ties in to timecard functionality. If a requirement is deleted, but the developer has completed a task, it seems appropriate to make sure the work itself can still be tracked.

Spira Helps You Quality Software, Faster and With Lower Risk

And if you have any questions, please email or call us at +1 (202) 558-6885

 

Statistics
  • Started: Sunday, March 22, 2020
  • Last Reply: Tuesday, March 24, 2020
  • Replies: 1
  • Views: 1211