Unsubscribe from a project

Friday, November 29, 2013 11:05:55 AM

Hi, currently I am subscribed to a lot of projects on our local SpiraTeam server. Since the list is now longer than my screen is able to display, I descided to unsubscribe from some old projects (that are still used, but not by me!).

First though was to remove me as a user from the project (using the Project Membership page). If another user now opens a incident (for example) where my name is used (on the field Detected By for example), this field is set to None. This is of course undesired behaviour.

Is there a way to hide some entries in the project list (at the top of the SpiraTeam website, the dropdown box), without interfering with the current content of the project?

4 Replies
Friday, November 29, 2013 1:16:56 PM
Avatar
re: Loenhoet on Friday, November 29, 2013 11:05:55 AM
Hi Stefan

I'm afraid that if you remove yourself from the Project Membership you will no longer appear in the various dropdown lists for that project. It won't affect any historical data, but if someone edits an incident/requirement/testcase/etc. it will require them to choose a new name from the list.
Regards

Jim
Monday, December 2, 2013 9:32:12 AM
Avatar
re: inflectra.jimx on Friday, November 29, 2013
Ok, thank you for the information.
Thursday, January 23, 2014 11:33:27 PM
Avatar
re: Loenhoet on Monday, December 2, 2013

Jim,

As the Spira Admin, I have the same issue.The active list is pretty long.

However, Stefan brings up a good point about the "undesired behaviour" when users are inactivated, but their name is associated to an artifact. We have locked down the detector in our workflow so that it isn't "accidentally" altered by a user. So when someone leaves, I have reassign their incidents to another user. It can be time consuming with really large projects.

I would rather have it retain an inactive users, then switch to (none).

Friday, January 24, 2014 1:01:38 PM
Avatar
re: jackswastedlife on Thursday, January 23, 2014
Jim,
We too have found this behavior undesirable.  It's fine to not have active users in the drop-down, but why force us to change data that was correct when it was first entered there?  I feel the fields should only force validation if data was changed in them, not just that the record was changed.
Thanks,

Statistics
  • Started: Friday, November 29, 2013 11:05:55 AM
  • Last Reply: Friday, January 24, 2014 1:01:38 PM
  • Replies: 4
  • Views: 448